Air Plan Approval; Ohio; Canton, Cleveland, and Steubenville Second 10-Year 2006 24-Hour PM2.5 Limited Maintenance Plans

Publication Date: 
Wednesday, July 5, 2023 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is proposing to approve, under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the limited maintenance plans (LMP) submitted on September 8, 2021, by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) for the Canton-Massillon (Stark County), Cleveland-Akron-Lorain (Cuyahoga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit Counties) and Steubenville-Weirton (Ohio-West Virginia, Jefferson County) maintenance areas. The plans address the second 10- year maintenance periods for particulate matter with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 2.5 micrometers (PM<INF>2.5</INF>). EPA is proposing to approve Ohio's LMP submissions for Canton-Massillon, Cleveland-Akron-Lorain, and Steubenville-Weirton because they provide for the maintenance of the 2006 24-hour PM<INF>2.5</INF> national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) through the end of the second 10-year portion of the maintenance periods. In addition, EPA is initiating the process to find the Canton-Massillon, Cleveland-Akron-Lorain, and Steubenville-Weirton PM<INF>2.5</INF> LMPs adequate for transportation conformity purposes.

Environmental Protection Agency