Response to Clean Air Act Section 176A Petition From Maine

Publication Date: 
Monday, May 3, 2021 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is proposing to grant a Clean Air Act (CAA) section 176A petition submitted by the state of Maine on February 24, 2020. The petition requests that the EPA remove a large portion of Maine from the Ozone Transport Region (OTR) based on that area's continued attainment with ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) and technical analyses demonstrating that the additional control of emissions from that portion of the state will not significantly contribute to ozone attainment in any area in the OTR. The OTR was established by the 1990 Clean Air Act (CAA or Act) Amendments and includes the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, the District of Columbia, and portions of northern Virginia.

Environmental Protection Agency