Error Correction of the Area Designations for the 2010 1-Hour Sulfur Dioxide (SO2

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is withdrawing its August 22, 2019, proposed rule, which proposed both to determine that the EPA made an error in the area designations for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide (SO<INF>2</INF>) Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for portions of Freestone and Anderson Counties, Rusk and Panola Counties, and Titus County in Texas, and to correct the proposed error by modifying the designations of those areas to unclassifiable. The EPA is withdrawing the proposed rule because the EPA, informed in part by technical information received during the public comment period on the proposed rule that further supports the EPA's initial designations of these areas, no longer believes the bases identified in the proposed error correction support the proposed conclusion that an error correction is appropriate.

Environmental Protection Agency