Air Plan Approval; TN; Montgomery County Limited Maintenance Plan for the 1997 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Publication Date: 
Thursday, December 2, 2021 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is taking final action to approve a state implementation plan (SIP) revision submitted by the State of Tennessee, through the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Air Pollution Control Division, on June 23, 2020. The SIP revision includes the 1997 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) Limited Maintenance Plan (LMP) for the Montgomery County, Tennessee portion of the Clarksville- Hopkinsville Area (hereinafter referred to as the ``Montgomery County Area'' or ``Area''). The Clarksville-Hopkinsville Area is comprised of Montgomery County, Tennessee, and Christian County, Kentucky. EPA is approving Tennessee's LMP for the Montgomery County Area because it provides for the maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS within the Montgomery County Area through the end of the second 10-year portion of the maintenance period. The effect of this action would be to make certain commitments related to maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS in the Montgomery County Area federally enforceable as part of the Tennessee SIP.

Environmental Protection Agency