Air Plan Approval; Tennessee; Knoxville Area Limited Maintenance Plan for the 1997 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Publication Date: 
Friday, July 23, 2021 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is taking final action to approve a state implementation plan (SIP) revision submitted by the State of Tennessee, through the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Air Pollution Control Division, via a letter dated January 23, 2020. The SIP revision includes the 1997 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) Limited Maintenance Plan (LMP) for the Knoxville, Tennessee Area (hereinafter referred to as the ``Knoxville Area'' or ``Area''). The Knoxville Area, as defined in this action, is comprised of Jefferson, Loudon, and Sevier Counties in their entireties, the portion of Cocke County that falls within the boundary of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and a portion of Anderson County that excludes the area surrounding Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) Bull Run Fossil Plant. EPA is approving the Knoxville Area LMP because it provides for the maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS within the Knoxville Area through the end of the second 10-year portion of the maintenance period. The effect of this action is to make certain commitments related to maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS in the Knoxville Area federally enforceable as part of the Tennessee SIP.

Environmental Protection Agency