Air Plan Approval; South Carolina; Catawba Indian Nation Portion of the Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill Area Limited Maintenance Plan for the 1997 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is taking final action to a approve state implementation plan (SIP) revision submitted by the State of South Carolina, through the Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC), via a letter dated July 7, 2020. The SIP revision includes the 1997 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) Limited Maintenance Plan (LMP) for the Catawba Indian Nation portion (hereinafter referred to as the Catawba Area) of the Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill NC-SC 1997 8-hour ozone maintenance area (hereinafter referred to as the Charlotte NC-SC 1997 8-hour NAAQS Area). The Charlotte NC-SC 1997 8-hour NAAQS Area is comprised of Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Union, and a portion of Iredell County (i.e., Davidson and Coddle Creek Townships) in North Carolina and a portion of York County, South Carolina, which includes the Catawba Area. EPA is finalizing approval of the Catawba Area LMP because it provides for the maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS within the Catawba Area through the end of the second 10-year portion of the maintenance period. The effect of this action would be to make certain commitments related to maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS in the Catawba Area federally enforceable as part of the South Carolina SIP.

Environmental Protection Agency