Air Plan Approval; Pennsylvania; Attainment Plan for the Indiana, Pennsylvania Nonattainment Area for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard

Publication Date: 
Monday, October 19, 2020 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is approving a state implementation plan (SIP) revision submitted by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The revision is an attainment plan for the 2010 sulfur dioxide (SO<INF>2</INF>) primary national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) in the Indiana County, Pennsylvania SO<INF>2</INF> nonattainment area (hereafter referred to as the ``Indiana Area'' or ``Area''). The Indiana Area is comprised of Indiana County and a portion of Armstrong County (Plumcreek Township, South Bend Township, and Elderton Borough) in Pennsylvania. The attainment plan includes the base year emissions inventory, an analysis of the reasonably available control technology (RACT) and reasonably available control measure (RACM) requirements, a reasonable further progress (RFP) plan, a modeling demonstration showing SO<INF>2</INF> attainment, enforceable emission limitations and control measures, contingency measures for the Indiana Area, and Pennsylvania's new source review (NSR) permitting program. As part of approving the attainment plan, EPA is approving into the Pennsylvania SIP new SO<INF>2</INF> emission limits and associated compliance parameters for Keystone Plant (hereafter referred to as ``Keystone''), and existing SO<INF>2</INF> emission limits and associated compliance parameters for Conemaugh Plant, Homer City Generation, and Seward Generation Station (hereafter referred to as ``Conemaugh,'' ``Homer City,'' and ``Seward''). EPA is approving these revisions that demonstrate attainment of the SO<INF>2</INF> NAAQS in the Indiana Area in accordance with the requirements of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

Environmental Protection Agency