Air Plan Approval; Ohio; Redesignation of the Ohio Portion of the Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky Area to Attainment of the 2015 Ozone Standard

Publication Date: 
Thursday, June 9, 2022 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) finds that the Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky area (Area) is attaining the 2015 ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS or standard) and is acting in accordance with a request from the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) to redesignate the Ohio portion of the Area to attainment for the 2015 ozone NAAQS because the request meets the statutory requirements for redesignation under the Clean Air Act (CAA). The Area includes Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren Counties in Ohio and parts of Boone, Campbell, and Kenton Counties in Kentucky. OEPA submitted the request for redesignation for the Ohio portion of the area (Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren Counties) on December 21, 2021. EPA is also approving, as a revision to the Ohio State Implementation Plan (SIP), the state's plan for maintaining the 2015 ozone standard through 2035 in the Area. Finally, EPA is approving the state's 2026 and 2035 volatile organic compound (VOC) and oxides of nitrogen (NO<INF>X</INF>) motor vehicle emission budgets for the Ohio portion of the Area for transportation conformity purposes. EPA received comments on its February 11, 2022, proposed rule. After considering comments received, EPA is finalizing this action as proposed.

Environmental Protection Agency