Air Plan Approval; Missouri Redesignation Request and Associated Maintenance Plan for the Jefferson County 2010 SO2

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 4:00am

On December 27, 2017, the State of Missouri submitted a request for the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to redesignate the Jefferson County, Missouri, 2010 1-hour sulfur dioxide (SO<INF>2</INF>) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) nonattainment area to attainment and to approve a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision containing a maintenance plan for the area. The State provided supplemental information on: May 15, 2018; February 7, 2019; February 25, 2019; and April 9, 2021. In response to these submittals, the EPA is proposing to take the following actions: Approve the State's plan for maintaining attainment of the 2010 1-hour SO<INF>2</INF> primary standard in the area; and approve the State's request to redesignate the Jefferson County SO<INF>2</INF> nonattainment area to attainment for the 2010 1-hour SO<INF>2</INF> primary standard.

Environmental Protection Agency