Air Plan Approval; Georgia; Macon Area Limited Maintenance Plan for the 1997 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Publication Date: 
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 - 4:00am

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is finalizing approval of a state implementation plan (SIP) revision submitted by the State of Georgia, through the Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD), on October 20, 2021. The SIP revision includes the Limited Maintenance Plan (LMP) for the Macon 1997 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) maintenance area (hereinafter referred to as the Macon 1997 8-hour Ozone NAAQS Area or Macon Area or Area). The Macon 1997 8-hour NAAQS Area consists of all of Bibb County and a portion of Monroe County located in middle Georgia. EPA is finalizing approval because the Macon Area LMP provides for the maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS within the Area through the end of the second 10-year portion of the maintenance period. This action makes certain commitments related to maintenance of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS in the Area federally enforceable as part of the Georgia SIP.

Environmental Protection Agency