Additional Revised Air Quality Designations for the 2015 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards: El Paso County, Texas and Weld County, Colorado

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 - 4:00am

This final action revises the initial air quality designations for two counties associated with two nonattainment areas for the 2015 primary and secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for ozone. In a July 10, 2020, decision, the District of Columbia Circuit Court remanded to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA or Agency), but did not vacate, the April 30, 2018, designations for 16 counties associated with nine nonattainment areas located in seven states. In response, the EPA has re-evaluated the designations for the remanded counties by applying a uniform, nationwide analytical approach and interpretation of the designation provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA) in considering the specific facts and circumstances of the areas using only data and information available at the time of the original designations. In this final action, the EPA is revising the boundaries of two nonattainment areas, affecting the designation status of two counties in two separate states (Colorado and Texas). The EPA addressed the 14 additional remanded counties in a previous Federal Register document.

Environmental Protection Agency